Cardinal Keith O’Brien had long-term secret boyfriend

I admit to a less than forgiving feeling of “gotcha” Cardinal Keith O’Brien’s public humiliation over his exposure as a sexual hypocrite. As the premier Catholic Scottish bishop, he had been quite vocal in his description of same-sex unions, equating them with slavery and child abuse. To be gay, in his language, was to be morally degraded. I actually rejoiced that he was forced to not take part in, perhaps, the most important function his office of Cardinal asked of him, i.e., to elect a Pope. Shame on me.

The shame, of which I am speaking, is that I am enjoying his humiliation with such glee. I like to think of myself as a compassionate man. This Cardinal has had his life exposed to the world. I should have some understanding of how he is feeling, but ya know, I don’t. This is a man who destroys God knows how many psyches and lives preaching hate against even himself.

I don’t deny the exposure and the resulting aftermath, needed to be; public accountability of/for leadership is that which helps keep leadership worthy. The Roman Catholic Church has been under the illusion that we are still in the fourteenth century and Church Law still trumps Civil Law. The way the Church handled the abusers of children in its midst is one most egregious example of not only their lack of respect for Civil Authorities, but their lack of Charity (Love) and Justice which is most undeniably the victims right.

It seems to me the Sin of the Church is the continuation of the sins depicted in The Garden of Eden, the plucking of the fruit followed by, in my mind, the worse and most Original Sin, the refusal to accept responsibility, the insistence on trying to lay the blame and responsibility elsewhere.

I hope to say more, more clearly, as I write, here and there, about My particular 60 year journey on the yellow brick road, but don’t hold your breaths.

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

