On Stopping the World

Back in the now ancient 60’s, there was a musical, “Stop the World, I Want to Get Off!” The notable feature of it was that in the middle of a crisis scene, Littlechap, the protagonist, would call out. “STOP”, and everything but Littlechap would freeze while he would discuss the situation he was in, how he felt about it, how he wished it would go, and then, the scene would resume, he feeling he had gained or learned something in that pause (meditation- one of the songs from that play is the What Kind of Fool Am I number). It had a respectable run on Broadway, but the 1966(?) movie, which was the version I saw, went through faster than a sneeze.

How often in life have I wanted to call out ‘Stop! I need some time here to understand, to adjust-‘ but it never happens. The world keeps rolling on piling suffocating event after suffocating event upon us in a marathon of pain and confusion. That we survive this marathon is the thing for which we wish. That we do is because of our own and inner strength salted by the love with which we are surrounded.

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Over The Fence, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Stopping the World

  1. PennyD says:

    I don’t know how many times I have wanted the whole thing to stop, but then something so almost small would happen and life for that moment would become outrageous or beautiful, or hilarious and I could continue on. As a friend said “life is a piece of cake, you just have to remember to keep scraping the plate.”

    Like

    • Doing some housekeeping on this site and bumped into this again. How did I NOT respond the “scraping the plate” remark. I’m borrowing it and putting it in the over the fence section on this blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

