Leafing Through My Past

Leafing Through My Past
a first draft
by Raymond Weaver

Sitting turning pages, leafing through my past,
Wondering at this face here, that line there,
Remembering what I’ve forgotten or denied.

Wondering at this face, that line, etched and
pasted on cheap paper in dollar store binders.
Remembering what I’ve forgotten or denied.

Pasted on cheap paper in dollar store binders
One life peppered with so many loves and tears:
Remembering what I’ve forgotten or denied.

One life peppered with so many loves and tears;
I almost discount the decades filled with laughter,
Remembering what I’ve forgotten and denied.

Sitting turning pages, leafing through my past,
I can forget all those loves and spent tears,
but I’ll be damned if I’ll deny the laughter.

Aug. 30, 2013

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Poetry ? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Leafing Through My Past

  1. Penny Duane says:

    Love the repetition.

    I wish I had journals during my younger life. Don’t do it now either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

