I Would Go Gentle

I Would Go Gentle

Dylan, I would go gentle
into that good night;
I am bone weary living
in this lying light;
rather I a shadow
than a being trite.

But death will not beckon,
not call me to dance-
and too bound to Mercy
am I to chance
embracing, at will
that last alliance.

For no horror would I gift
to strangers or friends,
no screaming dreams
to repeat without end.
no curse on the bright
of their horizons

So I wait, catatonic
in this waiting place,
impatient to see
Death’s welcoming face,
eager to rest
in his cooling embrace.

Necros! I am waiting.
Come! Hold me tight.
There will be no weeping
in that long and good night.

………………………….   198?

 

Notes on I Would Go Gentle

It seems to me that I have used Dylan’s words and general theme one other time (can’t remember where) but I remember this as the very first time because I remember that when I wrote it, I and a lover, with whom I’d had a ten year off and on, stop and go, relationship, made the decision to make a clean break.  It was a traumatic time and was enhanced by the fact I couldn’t get an acting break, owed a ton of money for pictures ,acting workshops, past-due phone bills and back-rent.  Not a happy time.  Now that I think about it, I’m surprised I survived it.

As I have said elsewhere, my life has always felt on the edge of being too much to bear, but I always bore it.  This piece came during one of those particularly edgy times.

 

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Notes, Poetry ? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Would Go Gentle

  1. Reblogged this on 21 Too young to die and commented:
    Beauty

    Like

  2. PennyD says:

    You are an erudite due to that edginess. So enjoy your words.

    Like

Leave a Reply

