Come, Lie With Me

Come, Lie With Me
for C.A.

Come lie with me, my life, and I
Will hold thee till thy shades subside-
Caress thy terrors until they die-
Come lie with me, my heart.

I will kiss the scars from off thy soul
With lips of balm and make thee whole,
Restoring to thee what others stole.
Come, lie with me, my fire.

I’ll take naught thou’ll not yield;
Love is not weapon, but a shield-
And I would let thee be healed,
Come, lie with me, my love.

Come lie with me, my all, and we
Will forge ourselves an eternity
That even gods might dare envy.
Come, lie with me, my marrow.


………………………………………..June 4, 1998

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Come, Lie With Me

  1. maidenfiji says:

    Allows me to hover in that truth-speak. I like this. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  2. @maidenfiji- I want to say thank you for your attention to my posts and your kind remarks. I tried finding a space to comment on your blog, but couldn’t find a place to comment. What I have read, your work seems provocative and I hope to read more in the following days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

