the messiah Tomorrow

the messiah Tomorrow

forty years & I’m reduced
to scribbling

meaningless  moneyless  metaphors
on scraps nobody reads
or cares to

forty years           reaching
for mother/father messiah
for Delano Roosevelt messiah
for Freud messiah
for Bodhisattva messiah
for mantra messiah
for all kins and kinds of pain
less bullshit messiahs      ALL
crumbling in the rust of time
leaving golgothas of revealed truth.

MOTHERLOVE SUCKS!         GOVERN
MENT SUCKS!         PSYCHOLOGY
SUCKS!         RELIGION SUCKS!
PHILOSOPHY SUCKS!

I no longer believe the messiah Tomorrow

forty years dreaming drinking milk
& honey & swallowing gall-
what manna made made myself-
cast-off visions           junkyard
dream-gathering: a mad treasure
this transfigured trash

I no longer believe the messiah Tomorrow

Forty years warrioring
against Jerichoes of dark circumstance
no Joshua wail will quail           trumpets
are not enough & still stuck
in my womb of a room wondering
am I just a graffito of God?

I no longer believe the messiah Tomorrow

forty years & time has fled
as silent as unicorn’s breath leaving
such wounds            such burning
such loss such loss such empty loss-
I ache like Israel for a promised land/
a Maccabee messiah           even
a golden calf would not be half bad-
SOMETHING
to quiet the terror

I no longer believe the messiah Tomorrow

forty years & a wail
still rises to my lips-
but      delicately-      so
as not to offend sen
sitive ears with primal scream.

FORTY YEARS YOU FUCKERS

& I’m as lost in this Sinai
as when I came in

I no longer believe the messiah Tomorrow

………………………………………………..1982

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Poetry ? and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the messiah Tomorrow

  1. PennyD says:

    Hey, Kiddo, did any of your friends ever call you Preacher? Always meant to ask you that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

