Feb. 25, 2002

Feb. 25, 2002

Long ago summers, when passions was coin
quickly earned and more quickly spent,
When love was forever and forever and
forever around the next corner, when smiles
and sighs were just recompense for a heart
wearing chains of sweet bondage,
when a kiss, in itself, was an orgasmic
delight foretelling a heavenly eternity,
entertains my middle-aging memory.

But passion was a counterfeit coin,
and around the next corner was just
a next corner and the sweet chains
of bondage too soon rusted and fell
away. Cold wisdom reminds
the only eternity is zero.
>

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Poetry ? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

