Testimony- Part 2

This is not quite a poem, but there are some elements in this piece that I like very much and I want to keep it visible so I may work on it more.

 

Testimony- Part 2

I am poet more of dark symphonies than light.
From wells of witnessed woes, my librettos sing.
I’ve slumbered well fed in soft down beds, but slept, too,
stomach to backbone, in Michigan ditches rotten with
rainwater as luminous eyed acolytes hurried, unseeing,
through the night, harrying sacrifices of imagination and sweat
to cathedrals of Moloch, the market place, where cash registers ring,
soulless choirs in the soul barren temples to the American Dream.

I have supped with Princes of this world wearing money-belts,
and God’s face, peddling to pinch-faced children, empty-bellied,
with emptier minds, this month’s celebrity’s jock-strap, rock-bottom
bargains costing next month’s rent. Moloch’s velvet whips
wound all flesh, and my psyche, too, has trembled to worship
from first lash to last, and the cash registers ring.

I have witnessed mother’s selling the flesh of their pups, like strayed
chattel, for a moment of venom, a moment of rush, running through
self-punctured veins, while the cash registers ring. I see men,
not loving, but rutting like roaches, unconscious, uncaring
of consequence; even roaches would blush for shame,
but, no matter, the cash registers ring.

Ignorance is the incense in these temples of Moloch,
and the gods demand sacrifice; the green vestmented
dollar, the god-faced money-changers, care not whose.

I am poet more of dark symphonies than light.
From wells of witnessed woes, my librettos sing,
waiting to sing Light where the cash registers sing.

June 12, 1996

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Notes, Poetry ? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

