Space-time

“Scientists can’t be sure what the shape of space-time is, but most likely, it’s flat (as opposed to spherical or even donut-shape) and stretches out infinitely. But if space-time goes on forever, then it must start repeating at some point, because there are a finite number of ways particles can be arranged in space and time.”

So if you look far enough, you would encounter another version of you, in fact, infinite versions of you. Some of these twins will be doing exactly what you’re doing right now, while others will have worn a different sweater this morning, and still others will have made vastly different career and life choices. ”

The two paragraphs above are a quote from an earlier entry John made.  I had wanted to comment on it, then, but didn’t, and am now unsure of what it was I wanted to say, except, perhaps, that concept of various twins of me in the universe has fascinated me since I read a a sci-fi book titled (I think) What Universe, back in high school.  A sobering thought is that in some of those Universes, I have already died.  (This is how you think, when you’re seventy-even if no one admits it.)

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Over The Fence and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Space-time

  1. PennyD says:

    In some of those possible universes, I’m here yelling, “You go, Girl!!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

