RE: Pink News Survey

A survey, sponsored by Pink News, has published data saying 70% of young gay men think sex, minus condoms, is more pleasurable. I can’t say I disagree with them. However, HIV is a still and growing danger in the gay community and I find myself falling on the side of “safety first” (they say with age, comes wisdom). Of course, at 71, this isn’t a question that effects me personally, anymore.

I was already 42, and basically settled into middle-age when HIV entered our lives. Lack of youthful energy, and a wonderful monogamous relationship, were my shield against the terror.

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in BEING GAY. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to RE: Pink News Survey

  1. patchesmany says:

    I’m curious about if HIV is still growing in hetero population. If not I’m quite curious if the reasoning for it growing in the gay population is simply due to condom use. I mean I’m sure most hetero men would say sex is better without condoms. Perhaps fear of pregnancy in hetero’s contributes?

    Like

  2. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/12/19/hiv-rate-united-states-black-women-gay-men_n_2332407.html

    This may answer some of your question about the rate of growth in some populations. I’m going to need some time to formulate a more personal comment.

    Like

  3. I have several friends with HIV/AIDS, and several who have died. It is a very restricting and debilitating disease. I pray that a cure is found soon. ~ Dennis

    Like

Leave a Reply

