Crime in the streets

Many years ago, I was robbed in the street. I was walking down a dark street, against parked cars when, suddenly, a man slipped out of the car, pointed a gun at me and said, “Give me your wallet.” I looked immediately at his shoes (I didn’t want him thinking I was memorizing his face) and handed it over.

Of course, When I arrived home, I immediately informed the police of the incident. They responded by saying they would send over officers to take my statements. When the officers arrived, I let them into the apartment; there were two of them, the shorter of the two dwarfed my six foot height. It was he who asked if I’d called in the robbery. “Yes”, I said.

“You have any ID?”

“I was robbed on the street; I am the rob-bee; they took my wallet. You want to see my ID, go catch the rob-ber.”

I’ve often wondered if they laughed, later.

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in POT POURRI and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crime in the streets

  1. PennyD says:

    Oh, Would have loved to have seen their faces. Heh.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

