No “Revelations” Here!

I have finally finished reading the Book of Revelation from beginning to end. I’ve tried to finish reading it any number of times since sometime in the nineteen-sixties, in various translations. Next to visiting Greece, it’s the item that has been in my bucket list the longest. Each time, I tried to read it, I was put off it by the mean-spirited “loving” God it purports to represent. Even in the Reader’s Edition of the Jerusalem Bible translation, which tries to soften the images where it can, God comes off as a jealous, petulant child who will play only it he has it all his way; reading it, I am reminded of my brother, as a child. Mama’s rule was, he was the baby, he always had to win, but I digress.

I managed to finish, this time, by reading one chapter a day. It was a distasteful chore, but it’s done. No opinions were changed. It is an inexorable, mostly plagerized from other biblical prophets, picture of a God I wouldn’t want to invite to dinner, let alone want to live with for all eternity.

The question is, however, why was it so important, to me, to read the book. Some of it probably has to do with bragging rights of some sort or other. I can’t imagine that a majority of people, even Christians, especially Christians, have actually read the book. I want to be among those smug few who can say I have. Not an honorable characteristic, I know, but what is, is.

However, there is also an element of not wanting to throw away the chance at truth just because I don’t like the wrapper in which it comes. I read Revelations for the same reason I read the pamphlets that people in the street hand me. There could be something on them I’d find enlightning. I keep alive some vague hope in the possibility there is some mystical more, that there is some sense in nonsense; I always want to believe in the “happy ever after” I read in the fairy tales I read as a youngster, despite the realities of life around me.

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Over The Fence and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No “Revelations” Here!

  1. Walks with Wolves says:

    I’ve read the entire Bible 3 times over now. Something most Christians cannot claim. Heck, my mom even brags that I know the Bible better than most pastors. *chuckles* Does give me some perverse sense of pleasure though. And like you, I was reading it out of hope…hope that I could figure out why so many people bind themselves to this religion. It still eludes me.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. nowandzenn says:

    I’m with you, Ray. I keep searching for, and hoping, that there is something more, or some kernel of truth in all of this. The closest thing I’ve ever found to “evidence” is Laureen really. While I can’t say she’s psychic, per se, I can say that she is highly intuitive and extraordinarily sensitive and there is something to the way that she sees the world that most of us are simply blind to. And I do trust in that so that perhaps there is “something” other than what we see around us as the realities of our lives. Great piece.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I THINK the truth is that the MEANING of life is not found in some hereafter. It is found in the living of it in the here and now. It’s an easier truth to appreciate when you come to that understanding sooner, than later. I think you and Laureen HAVE understood that, in your life together, not that knowing that makes the current situation easier for the two of you.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. nowandzenn says:

    You are a wise man, Ray.

    Like

Leave a Reply

