The Final Silence (100 words)

There are days I don’t want to ANYTHING. I want to quit fighting aches and age and my own ignorance. I want to lie still, in a bed, and stare at the ceiling and wait for the final silence.

I am old enough to greet it; I am the age my father was when he greeted the final silence. He surrendered after he buried my mother, but he had longed for it years prior to his surrender.

But I am not my father; the day passes, and the next finds me struggling to touch one more person, learn one more thing.

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Over The Fence, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

