No Illusions- No Regrets

No Illusions- No Regrets

One night-
and vows I made
swiftly fade,
old despairs again replay-
happy night, sorry day

Same words
I once called lies
and so despised,
now seemed truth in disguise.
My oracle? Your eyes.

Old scene-
I knew it true
(and so did you),
poignant farce played cool;
you were knave, I was fool.

Sept 3, 1969

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Poetry ? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Illusions- No Regrets

  1. nowandzenn says:

    Were you in your 20s when you wrote this? I can still hear “your voice” in it.

    Like

  2. I was twenty-seven.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment