The History of a Song- 1-17-69 Journal Entry

The History of a Song- From the Journal- Jan. 17, 1969

The writing of The Sad Song (see link) has a little bit of a history; I will relate it here. The night I wrote it followed the afternoon I went to see a Mr. Diamond, at Legal Aid, about a warrant I’d received for an unpaid bill dealing with my Hepatitis hospitalization. The meeting had been a particularly depressing encounter because Mr. Diamond was unable to help me with the problem. That evening, working late, and alone, I was experimenting with different vocal, musical sounds; one of my ways of dealing with stress has always been through singing aloud (when no one can hear me), arranging songs as I sing, to suit my own aesthetic sense. The song this evening was Frankie Laine’s recording of This Time You Sent Me A Mountain (written by Marty Robbins). The word mountain became the key word in my own word and vocal play around it.

I can’t write music, all I can say is that the sound accompanying the words was a kind of plaintive wail that ends as abruptly as it begins. For all intents and purposes, I suppose the result can be called a folk song, as its tonality arises more from waves of feeling than from a conscious effort to create.

Link to lyrics below:

https://elrondsilvermaul.wordpress.com/2014/06/03/the-sad-song/

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Personal, POT POURRI and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The History of a Song- 1-17-69 Journal Entry

  1. Pingback: The Sad Song | just4craig

Leave a Reply

