Watching Grass Grow

Watching Grass Grow

I am watching the grass grow, wondering
that seasons so quickly turn round and round
and round again, leaving no seeming
eternal mark. Was it not just yesterday
that patch of green was white and iced?
That I can barely remember the taste
of a chill wind on my tongue, or my bones
huddling under my skin, scraping from
each other what warmth they might,
seems a kind amnesia
from which I’ll never awake

It is the same with a mirror, two hundred
and more seasons have I circled the sun
but cannot recall myself appearing
other than as revealed now. Only photos,
laid in their time, one end to another
speak of one silver hair becoming a hundred,
one dimple of skin becoming a ravine
I did never dream that love would dare come
so tardily on this traveler’s road. Fleeces
of gold are quests best left to the energies
of youth and their sweet ignorance.

date of composition 1992?

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Poetry ? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

