Obama- Excerpt from a letter to….

On Obama- Excerpt from a letter to….

June 22, 2014

As for liking Obama- let me put it this way, in so far as he embodies and embraces the best part of Democratic Party principles, yes, I like him. Unfortunately, he has proven to be less than I hoped he would be. In foreign policy he has kept making the Bush mistake of letting the Pentagon and the National Security Agencies call the shots and has continued, even expanded, domestic surveillance and used the Espionage Act against governmental whistleblowers more often than other administrations combined, but has prosecuted nobody in the National Security Complex for illegal activities (a ‘thank you’ to John Feffer in The Dumbing Down of American Foreign PolicyHow much of these failures are because of his trying to ass kiss special interests in the Koch brother owned Republican Party, so as to foster some cooperation with his domestic policies, is hard to say, but this ass-kissing has been a mistake and useless.

Of course, as a gay man, I most heartily approve, and applaud, his recent Executive Order banning Federal contracters from discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender identity. Let’s hope he doesn’t muck it up with “religion” exemptions.

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Personal, POT POURRI and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Obama- Excerpt from a letter to….

  1. I am somewhat annoyed here. Every now and then I accidentally hit the like button on my own entries and make myself seem like what? An idiot? I can’t seem to find a way to correct the error.

    Like

Leave a Reply

