On the Pride Parade- from notes to family and friends

…Returning to the subject of this year’s parade, the lead off groups were a group of same-sex parents marching with their children, some of them in their teens. One toddler tickled the crowd by refusing to get into a stroller; he wanted to march; he strutted down the street waving a small rainbow flag, obviously enjoying himself. Almost every older kid had signs saying they were proud of their two dads and/or two mothers. They were followed by parents of gay children, marching with their kids, with their own signs saying how proud they were of their gay and transgender children. I had marched in the first Los Angeles Stonewall Parade in 1970, celebrating that revolution of the year before. I don’t think any of us that marched that year, even dreamed of how far and fast we would advance in the struggle for equality. We just wanted the police to stop harrassing us. Watching these examples of how far we, and the rest of American society, had come, brought tears of joy. I had to step back to keep from blubbering like an idiot. I know the struggle isn’t entirely over, but the final victory is in sight and though, like a minor Moses, I may not get to live fully in the Promised Land, at least I have seen it.

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in BEING GAY, Notes, Personal, POT POURRI and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On the Pride Parade- from notes to family and friends

  1. nowandzenn says:

    Love this, Ray! Yes, state after state, the roadblocks to same-sex marriage are tumbling away. A few weeks back I had the honor of watching the son of a same-sex couple graduate our school and what a role model he is/was. And I love the image of Ray as a “minor Moses”… Charlton Heston, move over.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

