There’ll Be Some Changes Made

There’ll Be Some Changes Made

I’ve decided to try and break my Facebook habit. Ever since I got connected to it, my writing has suffered, and to my mind, sending pictures back and forth is social masturbation, not real communication. My intention is to send more time more time working in my real life journal (pen & ink), return to sharing more with the journal group, and generally writing. Hopefully my long-term focus (which I’ve allowed Facebook to destroy) will return.

I’m not going to abandon Facebook, entirely, just limit my time on it to an hour a day. As it is with all habits, I’m expecting to suffer withdrawal symptoms but am hoping they won’t be too severe. I might share longer pieces from other venues on Facebook, as I share the occassional 100 word piece. Later in the process, I’m going to cut back my Facebook interests and contacts, but not immediately. I need to discern which are worth keeping.

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Notes, Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’ll Be Some Changes Made

  1. nowandzenn says:

    Last night I made a commitment to signing up for an online writing course as I’d like to learn a little about plot and character development. Now I just need the fortitude to stick with it.

    Like

  2. Great idea. The Gay Senior Center, which I’ve started to attend, has a writer’s group that meets at night once a week. Because I need to use a walker for long distances, and am older, I am a target for mischief; public transportation at night, increases my vulnerability. I’m beginning to investigate alternate modes of transportation, to and from Center that would allow me to attend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

