The Oklahoma University Conversation

March 11, 2015

My dear Alphonse,

Spent a few hours, yesterday, at the Center. The activity, as always on Tuesdays, was a discussion. I skipped the lunch, supplied by some city program. My major interest has always been the discussion group. I can get the same bland tasting food here at the home, for free, as I can, there, for a dollar fifty.

Of the three, or so, choices offered, the group chose to discuss the recent racist chanting that went on at Oklahoma University. The chant issued forth from campus members of the Sigma Alpha Epsilon (SAE) fraternity. With that incident at the center, the discussion morphed into, as far as I can tell, first, interpretations of possible cause of racism (nurture or nature) and then proceeded from there into various digressions of peripherals. A point, was made that there should be a limit of time allowed for each commenter, and the subject adhered to. I took the comment personally because, one, it was made directly after a comment of mine, two, I am aware of my tendency to ramble and to drift on and off point, and three, because of a certain animosity in tone by the person who made the comment. I am not saying. however, it was an unfair comment.

Conversation, by turn, is always a challenge for me. By the time it is my turn, my original impetus to comment has been colored by comments immediately preceding. I try to incorporate all my reactions into a coherent whole for fear I won’t get another turn; The result is rarely successful. It’s just that everything said is so god-damned interesting, comment worthy.

Another personal conversational peculiarity is I own a certain Southern Baptist Preacher style. Once I get rolling, my passion comes to the fore and those on the other end become more congregation than individuals. I’m enjoying myself. The question is, am I the only happy party?

I think I like writing so much because conversations can be designed to flow coherently, and without interruption. My narcissism is showing.

And what personal dragons are you fighting, this week?

Yonda foddah

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in The Alphonse Letters and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

