April, 6, 2015 NaJo challenge

On Freedom of Expression.

“See this is the agenda…one minute they argue that hey (sic) are born this way and it is not a choice to get 14th amendment rights equal protection…bologna…which was carved for permanent characteristics…unchangeable characteristics such as race and disability…but once they in (sic) the 14th amendment they will argue everyone should be able to choose being they (sic) gay or lesbian lifestyle…in other words they want to re engineer western civilization into a slow extinction We need healthy families with a mother and a father for the sake of children and humanity!” – Patricia Jannuzzi

The above quote was taken from a report in Raise The Flag, http://raisetheflagreport.com/this-catholic-school-teacher-shared-her-views-on-homosexuality-and-you-wont-believe-what-happened-next/ an on-line Right Wing site. The particular article was about a teacher at a Catholic school who made this comment, as a reaction to a Dan Savage comment that was reported nationwide on her personal Facebook page and was subsequently suspended. I’m having a little problem with that.

First, if she made the comment on her personal page, and did not claim her authority to make the comment as a teacher, why is she being punished for voicing an opinion. I would think she would be as protected in her opinion, with the usual proscriptions as being illegal and/or citing to violence, as I am to speak up for the idea of my rights as a gay man to participate fully in American life. The best way to combat a wrong idea is to engage it, not shut it down.

Of course I don’t like what she says, but I really can’t deny her her right to say it. I can not in good conscience support a knee-jerk reaction to silence her.

We are amidst a great change in American society. We are all being challanged to adjust to those changes. It takes patience and education. I am near 73 years old, I know the changes I have seen, the movement out of the shadows and fear into the sunlight. Sometimes it needs an act of revolution, such as Stonewall was, to get the change kick-started.

Before signing off, I want to acknowledge that today is the anniversary of my mother’s birth.  Were she alive, she would be ninety-six today, but she passed in 1984, the victim of cancer.  My father died a year later.  I wish that I had some words of love for either of them, but they don’t come.  I’m not even sure if I’m grateful that they gave me birth.  I can’t help but, sometimes, feel that it might have been kinder to have had me aborted rather than exist, in their mind, always, as the reason they had to marry.  However, that says more about me, than them, doesn’t it.

Still struggling with this cold.  I don’t get them often, but when I do, the germs just party, party, party.

My sister took me out to lunch, yesterday.  We were going to follow lunch with a visit the Art Institute, but I just couldn’t do it.  As it was, I barely got through lunch.

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in National Monthly Journal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to April, 6, 2015 NaJo challenge

  1. nowandzenn says:

    Not sure if the suspension you were talking about for this person was a suspension from her school? What I can say is that schools have pretty strict social media policies, my school included. I refused to sign it for several years. Not only does it hold me responsible for what I post on my Facebook page, but also for what everyone else posts to my page. So they hold me accountable for the actions of all my “FB friends”. I did my due diligence and checked the laws because this seemed like a violation of our right of free speech. Alas, no law supports that perspective. It appears that employers have a right to demand that you act responsibly on FB and I think they get to decide what that benchmark is.

    Like

    • Yes, it was a suspension from school, as I understand the article.

      I understand the need for some restrictions, but I’m not sure that the same policy could not be extended to include someone who voiced support for MacDonald strikers, or for (or against) minimum wage. It just seems to arbitrary.

      Like

Leave a Reply

