April 7, 2015- NaJo posting.

National news– Rand Paul is running for president.  He is a better candidate than Ted Cruz, but only minutely so.

On the Democratic side, it seems almost sure that it will be Hilary Clinton, e-mail snafu or no.  I’m not a knee-jerk supporter of hers.  My first concern is her age.  She’s 68, and if she won and ran for re-election, she’d be 72.  Reagan won his first term at 69 years old, and was 77 when he left office.  Rumors abound that he was touched by near-senility in his second term.

She does not have the kind of charisma her husband had, and I think her enemies in Congress would be almost as numerous as President Obama’s.  Her husband is going to have to be a strong pillar in her campaign.  At a joint appearance at the 2001 Concert for New York City, she was booed and heckled at the same time her husband was being enthusiastically applauded.

More to the point, I am unsure of what her vision for America’s future is.  I know that she has been a bit wishy-washy on the Iran conflict.  Other than that, I don’t know what she accomplished as a Senator.  Her being a woman is going to be both a plus and a minus.

I am obviously going to have to do more research on Ms. Clinton.

Local News- The run-off election in Chicago between the current mayor, Rahm Emanuel, and the challenger, Jesus Garcia is over.  Garcia conceded to Emmanuel an hour, or so, ago.  What made this election so exciting is this was, I think, the first time in the history of Chicago that a sitting mayor had to face a run-off election. The projected final margin is 55 to 45 percent.  I was part of the 45%.  My vote against Emanuel was based, partly, on his arrogance towards the average Chicago voter and his kiss-ass attitude to rich business connections.   The fact that he closed over 50 schools, most of them, I believe, in economically challenged neighborhoods was also a factor.   Generally, my impression of his has always been that he was a lace-curtain liberal, more show than rock-hard commitment.  His career under the Clinton patronage does nothing to convince me otherwise.

Garcia came from my old neighborhood, a more hard-scrabble locale.  He knew more than Emanual about the difficulty of  the lower middle-class who are living from paycheck to paycheck.  His difficulty was that he couldn’t present his idea of how to make that existence less difficult.

My hope is that Garcia’s strong showing will give Emanuel pause in his courtship of the rich and his favoring of the North side of the city at the expense of the other neighborhoods.

***************************

Listening to NPR, this afternoon, I was reminded that the sinking of the Lusitania will have it’s 100th year anniversary, May 7th.  How the world has changed since then.  Old World dynasties have toppled, country boundaries, where the country has not completely disappeared, changed.  America became leader of the world after two World Wars and an ocean of blood.  My father was a year old and watched the rise of America on the world scene.  I am pushing 73 and watching it’s decline.  How’s that for perspective?

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in National Monthly Journal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April 7, 2015- NaJo posting.

  1. You said your first concern about Hillary was her age. My first concern is about her ethics and integrity. My second concern is why her ethics and integrity aren’t your first concern.
    – Jeff

    Like

Leave a Reply

