100 Words- May 2, 2015

I am sure you know off, and perhaps have even seen the Picasso sculpture that fronts Chicago’s City Hall. The first time I saw a photo representation of it, with the caption that it was a gift to Chicago, I saw Phoenix rising from the ashes. I am not sure this is what Picasso had in mind, but that is how the work spoke (and still does) to me. Would I have seen that same image had it been in another context, connected to another reference?

I have heard, recently, that Picasso had a title for it that wasn’t mine.

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in 100 WORDS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

