100 Words- June 6, 2015

It’s Gay Pride month. Every year since The Stonewall Riots in 1969, activists have worked both to publicly commemorate that event, and to create a sense community among gay people that we did not have. That sense of community has grown to include bi-sexual and trans-gender people; Stonewall gave birth to that sense, helping us move from the fear of one person isolated, powerless, in the same way the Labor movement did for all the working man and woman, earlier in this century.

Speaking as one who has lived this history of isolation into a full equality, I gratefully salute Stonewall’s memory.

 

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in 100 WORDS and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

