100 Words- June 10, 2015

It was once said that you could tell who was gay at a Hollywood party simply by noting which actors were gathered around Judy Garland. She was my generation’s Madonna, or Lady Gaga.

I know that on November 3, 1956, I fell in love with her. That was the first time The Wizard of Oz played on television, and it was the first time I heard her sing Somewhere Over The Rainbow. The song became this gay boy’s personal National Anthem. I don’t know if that song has ever been covered by anyone else.

Happy Birthday, Miss Garland, and thank you, forever.

 

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in 100 WORDS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

