100 Words- June 16, On NPR

NPR is beginning another funding drive. Once, back in the Seventies, when it was an alternative voice against strangle-hold domination of the news by Conservatives, I supported the station with my membership. I no longer do so, the reason being I think it has abandoned the alternative role in favor of a more middle-of-the-road to Conservative stance. It has become a willing participant in what Glenn Greenwald has called the “corruption of American journalism”. As some evidence of that corruption, witness, its complicity to conceal it’s creation of a torture regime in Guantanamo, yet called out every other torture country.

 

 

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in 100 WORDS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 100 Words- June 16, On NPR

  1. hmmmm…I was going to tell you I listen to NPR..and some of their more entertaining music programs. Our local NPR stations just had their fund drive and although i did contribute to it in the fall I can’t always do it. that’s not the point though I think they can be very indepth and better at the interviewing then some others…

    Like

  2. katiegirl06460 – the problem is, for me, that even though their how they do what they do, they no longer really handle the the tough issues. They no longer really investigate a story behind the general release, or so it is my opinion. Now that they accept some advertising, I expect the corruption is going to get worse.

    Like

Leave a Reply

