Permitting Muslim Prayers in schools

Permitting Muslim Prayers in schools.

A friend recently sent me this link: http://conservativepost.com/american-public-school-is-forcing-christian-students-to-learn-a-muslim-prayer/ Some quick research on the web revealed a number of links regarding this practice. Time does not permit me to explore each and every one, at this time, but I did want to post a general reply to my friend. It follows.

What’s good for the gander is good for the goose! I am absolute in my opposition to prayer being permitted in public spaces, and that includes schools.

I am not opposed to religions being studied critically as part of the history of civilizations. In that sense, prayers from any religion might be studied as critical clues to the development of a culture. This is, however, a sophisticated study. I am not convinced that grade school is where that study should begin.

However, encouraging courteous respect for differences, religions included, could be an educational goal. The difficulty is in finding the line between proselytizing and educating young minds that are still prone to believe in Santa Claus and the Tooth Fairy.
http://archive.adl.org/religion_ps_2004/prayer.html#.VjEMfx1X2fE

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in POT POURRI and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

