2015-Goodbye

2015-

You were an endurable year, with a few constant bright lights keeping me steady and sane. I would be remiss to not mention my gratitude for my psychologist, my weekly visits from my Center on Halsted volunteer friend, Eric, and The Center, itself. Without these three, I would have succumbed to despair and disinterest. I need also to say thank you for the friendship and constant encouragement of some people I’ve only met on social media, but for whom I hold in my heart as friends as close as family. I especially wish to note John Austin, Kelsey Blake, Kathi Hale, Nancy Crissinger, and Penny Duane.  Their patience with my, too frequent. self-absorption deserves testimonial dinners.

Politcally, 2015, you made me ashamed to be an American. Through a political party, you celebrated ignorance, induced popular fear, and attempted to move backwards in some areas of the Civil Rights and General Welfare of the average citizen. You cut food stamps, educational funding, etc., and increased defense spending and corporate welfare. You stole from the poor and the middle-class so as to further enrich the rich. The Jesus most of this Party’s adherents claim to worship and follow would, by my readings of his supposed mission, weep over the way his name and teachings have been distorted and abused. This critique holds for some people claiming other faiths, as well. They have been equally absurd and hypocritical.

Still, not all has been gloom and doom. In Amercia, gay and lesbian people are, at last, beginning to enjoy some measure of equality in matters of marriage and family rights. The battle will continue, but some victories have been ours. Hopefully, 2016 will bring employment and other social equalities issues to full fruit. Hopefully, transgender persons will be allowed the same rights and privileges, the same right to BE, as the general population.

Personally, I am grateful that 2015 saw an improvement in my health and allowed less hospital stays. For this, and all the good I have not named, in this message, I say “Thank You”. For the sake of all the evil, named and unnamed, may 2016 be a year of education and repentance.

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Personal, POT POURRI and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2015-Goodbye

  1. Walks says:

    wonderful! 🙂 Onwards, dear friend!

    Like

  2. Nancy says:

    Dear man, Dear friend, thank you.
    Every year is memorable, for sure. I am so grateful for your presence in my life, for your intelligence & conversations , for always making me pause & think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

