It’s a dry Sunday, intellectually-

Work while you have the light.
You are resonsible for the talent
that has been entrusted to you
                                      Henri Frederick Amiel

It’s a dry Sunday, intellectually-

I need to say, first and upfront, that I am not an economist. I don’t understand money. What I do understand is the results of what I see in the actual, rather than the theorhetical circumstances around me. It is by way of these actual circumstances that I say the following.

A country’s greatest assest is it’s citizenry. When that citizenry is provided with both physical safety and means by which, as it is written in the Constitution to the United States, the general welfare is promoted, the country prospers.

As well as being a country’s greatest asset, the citizenry are also the greatest investment a country can undertake. That investment, in my thinking, is providing a means towards basic food and shelter, insuring basic health care, and providing its citizens full and free rights to education. When private investments can’t, or won’t, the government needs to fill in the gap.

We live in a country that has scores of abandoned houses and scores of homeless persons, including children. We tolerate this. We live in a country where being ill can bankrupt you even if you have private insurance. And the private insurance companies don’t care about the health of anything but their bottom line. We live in a country in which students have to mortgage their future to get an education. We live in a country where people work two jobs and still need food stamps because companies don’t pay a living wage. We live in a country where it is more important to own an automatic assult rifle than it it to feed hungry children.

I’ll be voting Bernie Sanders, come the primary.

This posting sucks, but I’ve done my hour and my mind is dry.

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in Over The Fence, POT POURRI and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

