To have that sense of one’s intrinsic
worth, which constitutes self-respect,
is potentially to have everything.

Joan Didion

After watching Zeitgeist

I watched a movie, Zeitgeist, produced and directed by a Peter Joseph in 2007, on You Tube, this morning. While I had no particular problem with the first part, seeing as it agreed with my general knowledge about the history of religions, the second and third parts scared the hell out of me. I looked up some comments made about the movie and found most of them to declare that it was, by and large, agitprop, and as with most agitprop propositions, devoid of any credible referential information. Now I’m all asea about the credability of the first part. This is not say that I have changed my opinion about the existance of a god, but I’m surely not going to use most of the arguments the documentary presented as proof of my opinion.

The second and third parts dealt with the idea of “a business cabal” to make a one-world system (shades of Free-masonry) controlled and answerable only to them.

One of their points was that business keeps the world in turmoil by fostering wars. Wars generate wealth for those who supply both sides. Based on my own experience of living in a country that has, except for a short period after the Korean War, been at war with somebody, for as long as I can remember. By and large, they haven’t been declared wars, but the destruction of lives and property has been the same. And many wars have been presented to the man-in-the-street as necessary, through lies (The Gulf of Tonkin, or the more recent invasion of Iraq, e.g.)

American opinion is swayed by both too little information, and too much information. The government is too non-transparent regarding its motives, way too often lying to the public, and the internet is too full of information, not all of it credible, and it’s hard to separate the wheat from the chaff, to use an old New Testament metaphor.

The largest problem, however, is the disinterest of the man in the street. They want more to be entertained than they want to bother about things that directly affect and effect their lives. I’m betting that more people tuned in to the Golden Globes, the other night, than they will the coming State of the Union Address. America is doomed because of its disinterest in the whys and hows of government. Their disinterest is clear just in the kind of people they pick to represent their interests. Nobody’s from Missouri, anymore.

About elrondsilvermaul

I never know what to say about myself. I let what I write try to speak as to who I am. I can only add, here, that I am 72, live in a nursing home, am twenty years a cancer survivor, and identify as a gay male. I intend to use this blog as storage for poems? written over the long years (and still being written). This does not preclude other uses.
This entry was posted in POT POURRI and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

